[ Blog ] Content Marketing

Content Marketing is a gentle and sustainable form of online sales. Stories are told. Stories that should be remembered, inspire and make you think. The company’s own products are made available to users on their own media and channels.

If I place such a product on a “foreign” platform, i.e. if a pair of hiking boots is mentioned in an online newspaper article and contextually (purely exemplary) placed in a certain region or on a certain mountain, I find myself in a different approach, in native advertising .

Differentiating the two forms is difficult at first glance. Both work with tools and platforms that are available. The context and the way the advertised product is presented is crucial.

Compared to easily recognizable “banner advertising” (see IAB Standards ), texts and images appear as content marketing or native Advertising (to stay at this point in general) is well integrated into the respective platform. This is intended to create the least possible irritation (distraction), to offer added value through content and (depending on the strategy) to entertain.

Positive experience is important. Banner advertising is often classified as disturbing and the numbers for ad blockers are rising continuously worldwide (which does not affect sales of advertising because, of course, a delivery, even if it has been blocked, is included in the statistics as a counted delivery. Experts like Corinna Höll help to develop a fairer model).

Content marketing and naive advertising are argumentative “on the line” if you want to go into tennis as a sport comparison. The type of implementation decides whether the form of advertising is “out” or not. However, play with the content continues and the ball must keep moving. That is the goal. Others call it customer loyalty.

Content Marketing ist eine sanfte und nachhaltige Form des Online Verkaufes. Es werden Geschichten erzÀhlt. Geschichten die einem in Erinnerung bleiben sollen, inspirieren und zum Nachdenken anregen. Die eigenen Produkte werden auf den eigenen Medien und Channels den Nutzern zugÀnglich gemacht.

Platziere ich ein ebensolches Produkt auf einer “fremden” Plattform, wird also ein Paar Wanderschuhe in einem Online Zeitungsartikel erwĂ€hnt und kontextuell (rein exemplarisch) in eine bestimmte Region oder auf einen bestimmten Berg gesetzt, befinde ich mich in einer anderen Herangehensweise, im Native Advertising.

Differenzierung der beiden Formen ist auf den ersten Blick schwierig. Beide arbeiten mit Werkzeug und Plattformen die zur VerfĂŒgung stehen. Der Kontext und die Art der Darstellung des beworbenen Produktes ist entscheidend.

Im Vergleich zu leicht erkennbarer “Bannerwerbung” (siehe IAB Standards) sind Texte und Bilder in ihrem Erscheinungsbild als Content Marketing oder Native Advertising (um an dieser Stelle generell zu bleiben) gut integriert in die jeweilige Plattform. Das ist beabsichtigt um wenigst mögliche Irritation (Ablenkung) zu schaffen, Mehrwert durch Inhalt zu bieten und (abhĂ€ngig von der Strategie) zu unterhalten.

Positives Erleben ist wichtig. Bannerwerbung wird oft störend eingestuft und die Zahlen fĂŒr Ad Blocker steigen weltweit kontinuierlich (was den VerkĂ€ufen an Werbung keinen Abbruch tut, weil natĂŒrlich eine Auslieferung, auch wenn diese geblockt wurde, als gezĂ€hlte Auslieferung in die Statistik kommt. Experten wie Corinna Höll helfen hier ein faireres Modell zu entwickeln).

Argumentativ stehen Content Marketing und Naitive Advertising “auf der Linie” wenn man ins Tennis als Sportvergleich gehen möchte. Ob sich die Werbeform im “out” oder nicht befindet, entscheidet die Art der Umsetzung. Das Spiel mit dem Inhalt geht jedoch weiter, und der Ball muss in Bewegung bleiben. Das ist das Ziel. Andere nennen es Kundenbindung.