[ Blog ] Domains

Domain

The right domain is essential. For every user who wants to memorize a company without a bookmark, a connection to the brand (range) must be clearly and easily recognizable. The adequate choice of the name of your own domain depends on a few factors.

Firstly, the domain owner (company) has to weigh up the choice of a name for the domain depending on their own mission, vision or mission statement and philosophy. The target group must be able to easily remember this name in order to be able to keep it to themselves (without bookmarks). However, it is not easy to make a meaningful, coherent choice. If the company wants to put a product in the foreground, a separate product domain is available (with an associated website that fully focuses on the product features and the product context).

Let’s stay with that thought. The domain is representative of all the company’s content and should therefore be unmistakable with other brand names (legal protection for the future). The brand presence and branding also play an essential role, as do the market segments (risk of confusion) in which one is active.

Second, the domain name should be easy to pronounce. The choice of words and the associated meaning (which you attach to it yourself) is on the test bench. This is called in the universe of psychology processing fluid . If the name or chosen designation rolls easily and well off the tongue (thoughts) without being distracted by agonizing questions (letter-number combination or zero vs. capital O): Please make the shortlist!

Third, shorten. At this point you have probably already invested a lot of time and “brains”, obtained other opinions and are already happy (and or frustrated): If you already have a short domain name in view that meets all the previous criteria, wonderful. It is essential that the essence in the domain name remains representative of your company in search engine results or cross-media (including print, POS) the portal to your digital agendas.

Finally, let’s take a quick look at DIGIBOND. I have been working in digital reality with all the associated agendas (web, mobile, app) for almost 15 years. Bond , i.e. James Bond , is on a secret mission as agent for the British crown on our televisions since 1962; BOND also means binding (band).

(Source: Google Translator , 04-01-2018)

After a selection of names it goes to the domain search: Which domains are available? Who owns this or this domain (see ICANN WHOIS )? Which decision makes the most sense in the long term? It has to be intuitive.

Die richtige Domain ist essentiell. FĂŒr jeden Benutzer der sich ohne Lesezeichen eine Firma merken will muss eine Verbindung zur Marke (Sortiment) gut und leicht erkennbar sein. Die adequate Wahl des Namens der eigenen Domain hĂ€ngt von einigen Faktoren ab.

Erstens muss der Domaininhaber (Firma) in AbhÀngigkeit mit der eigenen Mission, Vision bzw. Leitbild und Philosophie die Namenswahl der Domain abwÀgen. Die Zielgruppe muss sich diesen Namen leicht merken können um diesen gut bei sich behalten zu können (ohne Lesezeichen). Eine aussagekrÀftige, stimmige Wahl ist jedoch nicht einfach zu treffen. Will das Unternehmen ein Produkt besonders in den Vordergrund stellen, bietet sich eine separate Produkt-Domain an (mit zugehöriger Webseite die vollen Fokus auf die Produktmerkmale und den Produktkontext legt).

Bleiben wir bei diesem Gedanken. Die Domain ist reprĂ€sentativ fĂŒr alle Inhalte des Unternehmens und soll damit unverwechselbar mit anderen Markennamen (rechtl. Absicherung fĂŒr Zukunft) sein. Der Markenauftritt und das Branding spielen ebenso eine wesentliche Rolle, genau wie die Marktsegmente (Verwechslungsgefahr) in denen man sich bewegt.

Zweitens, der Domain Name sollte sich gut und einfach aussprechen lassen. Die Wortwahl und die damit in Verbindung stehende Bedeutung (die man diesen selbst beimisst) steht damit am PrĂŒfstand. Dieser nennt sich im Universum der Psychologie VerarbeitungsflĂŒssigkeit. Rollt der Name oder gewĂ€hlte Bezeichnung leicht und gut von der Zunge (Gedanken) ohne durch quĂ€lende Fragen (Buchstaben-Zahlen Kombi oder Null vs. großes O) abgelenkt zu werden: Bitte rein in die engere Wahl!

Drittens, kĂŒrzen. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt haben Sie vermutlich bereits viel Zeit und “Hirn” investiert, andere Meinungen eingeholt und sind schon <fast> glĂŒcklich (und oder frustriert): Sollten Sie bereits einen kurzen Domain Namen im Blickfeld haben der allen bisherigen Kriterien entspricht, wunderbar. Wesentlich ist, dass die Essenz im Domain Name reprĂ€sentativ fĂŒr Ihr Unternehmen in Suchmaschinen Ergebnissen oder Cross-medial (inkl. Print, POS) das Portal zu Ihren digitalen Agenden bleibt.

Sehen wir uns zum Abschluss kurz DIGIBOND an. Ich arbeite seit knapp 15 Jahren in der digitalen RealitĂ€t mit allen dazugehörigen Agenden (Web, Mobile, App). Bond, also James Bond, ist als Agent in geheimer Mission fĂŒr die britische Krone seit 1962 auf unseren FernsehgerĂ€ten; BOND bedeutet aber auch Bindung (Band).

(Quelle: Google Translator, 04-01-2018)

Nach einer Auswahl an Names geht es ab in die Domain Suche: Welche Domains  sind verfĂŒgbar? Wem gehört diese oder diese Domain (siehe ICANN WHOIS)? Welche Entschdeidung ist nachhaltig am Sinnvollsten? Intuitiv muss es stimmen.