[ Blog ] Kiosk

Kiosk orders of goods (e.g. drinks, food) as you know from McDonalds (since 2015) are technically unproblematic. However, there are different approaches based on the local conditions.

The interior of a kiosk can (but does not have to) include an appointment connection (including NFC) for a cashless payment process. This is independent of the cash option (and issuing of cash / notes such as coins). Voucher top-up options with a predefined customer card (reusable for every customer) can also be integrated without a terminal. It is important here that the voucher must be redeemed first and only in the second step is it transferred to the customer card as a credit (QR code or barcode).

The extent to which a connection to customer relationship management (customer administration of customer data and account) is to be enabled depends on the technical conditions on site. To make it a little more complicated, assuming the decision +/- terminal, payment method and customer card have been made: Should the kiosk be integrated into a wall? Will the kiosk be set up free-standing near the checkout area?

With both options, screens for the order status (e.g. above the cash register and goods issue, or directly above the kiosk itself with, for example, free-standing devices) can be integrated. However, good cooling is necessary for “outdoor” devices in order to ensure the longevity of the devices. Depending on the provider, the devices are for example. Insured for spare parts for up to three years. However, a failure leads to little customer satisfaction and if you do not take out an immediate service, waiting times must be taken into account.

An in-house spare parts warehouse is not an option because the rapid technological development can literally thwart the bill. “Better” processing systems are a risk that should be budgeted for in order to keep operations running smoothly and on time.

So far, the possible connection to a merchandise management system and an interface to existing cash register solutions have not been addressed. Depending on customer requirements and needs, both options must be technically planned and can be integrated step-by-step or immediately.

Good planning is therefore most important.

Kiosk Bestellungen von Waren (z.B. GetrÀnke, Speisen) wie man Sie von McDonalds (seit 2015) kennt sind technisch unproblematisch. Es bieten sich jedoch verschiedene Herangehensweisen basierend auf den Gegebenheiten vor Ort.

Das Innenleben eines Kiosk kann (muss aber nicht) eine Termin Anbindung (inkl. NFC) fĂŒr einen bargeldlosen Bezahlvorgang beinhalten. Dies ist unabhĂ€ngig von der Option Barzahlung (und Herausgabe von Bargeld / Scheine wie MĂŒnzen). Gutschein Auflade-Möglichkeiten mit einer vordefinierten Kundenkarte (wiederverwendbar fĂŒr jeden Kunden) können ebenfalls ohne Terminal integriert werden. Wichtig hierbei, zuerst muss der Gutschein gelöst werden und erst im zweiten Schritt wird dieser als Guthaben (QR Code oder Strichcode) auf die Kundenkarte gespielt.

Inwiefern eine Anbindung an ein Customer Relationship Management (Kundenverwaltung von Kundendaten und –konto) ermöglicht werden soll, obliegt den technischen Gegebenheiten vor Ort. Um es noch ein wenig komplizierter zu machen, angenommen die Entscheidung +/- Terminal, Bezahlmethodik und Kundenkarte sind gefĂ€llt: Soll der Kiosk in eine Wand integriert werden? Wird der Kiosk freistehend in der NĂ€he des Kassenbereiches aufgestellt?

Bei beiden Optionen sind Screens fĂŒr den Bestellstatus (z.B. oberhalb der Kasse und Warenausgabe, oder direkt ĂŒber dem Kiosk selbst bei bspwse. Freistehenden GerĂ€ten) integrierbar. Gute KĂŒhlung ist jedoch bei „outdoor“ GerĂ€ten nötig, um die Langlebigkeit der GerĂ€te zu gewĂ€hrleisten. Je nach Anbieter sind die GerĂ€te bspwse. bis zu drei Jahren auf Ersatzteile versichert. Ein Ausfall fĂŒhrt jedoch zu wenig Kundenzufriedenheit und schließt man nicht ein Sofort-Service ab, sind Wartezeiten einzurechnen.

Ein eigenes Ersatzteillager bietet sich insofern nicht an, weil die rasante Technologieentwicklung hier einen buchstĂ€blichen Strich durch die Rechnung machen kann. „Bessere“ Verarbeitungssysteme sind ein Risiko das budgetiert werden sollte um den Betrieb reibungslos und zeitgemĂ€ĂŸ zu erhalten.

Unangesprochen blieb bisher die mögliche Anbindung an eine Warenwirtschaftssystem und eine Schnittstelle an bereits bestehende Registrierkassen-Lösungen. Je nach Kundenwunsch und Bedarf sind beide Optionen technisch zu planen und können schrittweise oder sofort integriert werden.

Gute Planung ist daher am Wichtigsten.