[ Blog ] Facebook

What does the change in Facebook strategy mean for your customers? The topicality of the newsfeed is in the hands of the user. As a company, your own fans can intervene. But how many will answer the call?

Based on the “time well spent” approach, interactions (likes and shares after defacto viewing e.g. a video or picture) should be in the future. According to scientific studies, the interactions are apparently the main reason for “happiness” in the life of a society. This is how Zuckerberg expresses himself. Assuming the correctness of this theory (there are a large number of studies and specialist literature on it), this does not yet exclude economic interests.

On the one hand, the optimization of the algorithm should enable a prediction of interaction and thus higher customer satisfaction. However, this data helps Facebook sell better user understanding (behavior). At the same time, the media and publishers, although all brands, lose their previous favorites. However, paying for presence remains an existing factor in the news feed.

The thought crosses my mind: Parallels to Google’s SEO (Search Engine Optimization) for more transparency and quality of the user experience could be seen.

The reach on Facebook can now be increased through real interaction. When I talk to Facebook users, I notice that the probability of not seeing everything in the news feed hardly seems real. While an average of 16% was achievable in 2012, we can unfortunately now reckon with 1.5%. Of course, each user can define himself which company he gives a “first” position and thus reveals a “Family & Friends” relationship.

Interactions at best have a direct connection for Facebook company success and influence: the video shows some exemplary data collection (s) about users (note: English).

Related Links:

Park7 Bog, How does the algorithm work
HubSpot, Why org. Range is dwindling & how to outsmart the algorithm

Was bedeutet die Änderung der Facebook Strategie fĂŒr Ihre Kunden? Die AktualitĂ€t im Newsfeed wird in in die HĂ€nde des Nutzers gelegt. Als Unternehmen können die eigenen Fans eingreifen. Doch wieviele werden dem Aufruf folgen?

Basierend auf dem Ansatz “time well spent” sollen kĂŒnftig Interaktionen (Likes und Shares nach defakto Sichtung z.B. eines Videos oder Bildes) sein. Die Interaktionen sind offenbar wissenschaftlichen Studien zufolge tragender Grund fĂŒr “GlĂŒck” im Leben einer Gesellschaft. So drĂŒckt sich Zuckerberg aus. Geht man von der Richtigkeit dieser Theorie aus (es gibt eine Vielzahl an Studien und Fachliteratur dazu), schließt dies noch nicht wirtschaftliche Interessen aus.

Einerseits soll nĂ€mlich die Optimierung des Algorithmus eine Vorhersage von Interaktion und damit höherer Kundenzufriendenheit ermöglichen. Diese Daten helfen Facebook jedoch besseres Benutzerverstehen (Verhalten) zu verkaufen. Gleichzeitig verlieren die Medien und Verlage wiewohl alle Marken Ihre bisherige Favoriten-Stellung. Bezahlen fĂŒr PrĂ€senz bleibt aber ein bestehender Faktor im Newsfeed.

Es geht mir der Gedanke durch den Kopf: Parallelen zu Google’s SEO (Search-Engine-Optimization) fĂŒr mehr Transparenz und QualitĂ€t der Nutzererfahrung könnten gesehen werden.

Die Reichweite kann auf Facebook nunmehr wohl durch echte Interaktion erhöht werden. Spreche ich mit Facebook Nutzern fĂ€llt mir auf, dass die Wahrscheinlichkeit, nicht alles im Newsfeed zu sehen kaum real scheint. Waren 2012 durchschnittlich 16% erreichbar, kann man nunmehr leider mit 1,5% rechnen. NatĂŒrlich kann jeder Benutzer selbst definieren welchen Firmen er eine “Erste” Stelle gibt und damit ein “Family & Friends” NaheverhĂ€ltnis preisgibt.

Interaktionen haben allenfalls einen direkten Zusammenhang fĂŒr Facebook Unternehmens-Erfolg und Einfluss: das Video zeigt einige exemplarische Datensammlung(en) ĂŒber Nutzer (Hinweis: Englisch).

WeiterfĂŒhrende Links:

Park7 Bog, Wie funktioniert der Algorithmus
HubSpot, Warum org. Reichweite schwindet & wie Sie Algorithmus austricksen